KVHBF Vitrinen
DSC_9021_comp.jpeg

Grind&Shine Inc. by Cake&Cash presents
Francis Kussatz

21. August — 3. Oktober 2021

Francis Kussatz und Xiaofu Wang stellen mit den fiktiven Personas Young Business Woman Without A Business und Sick Person die Definitionen von Funktionalität und Produktivität in Frage und laden dazu ein, diese im eigenen Denken zu dekonstruieren. Beide Figuren sind Schöpfungen, die bisher vornehmlich in Videos und Fotos in den sozialen Medien in Erscheinung traten. In den Vitrinen des Kunstvereins erhalten sie nun eine physische Bühne, auf der die beiden Charaktere über den Bahnsteig hinweg mit sich und den Vorbeigehenden in einen Dialog treten. Die Personas stehen als Tropen sinnbildlich für das soziale Dilemma der Generation Y; zwischen Authentizitätsstreben und Überanpassung.

“Don’t assume anything about anyone.”, sagt die Young Business Woman Without A Business in einem ihrer Videos. Trotzdem oder genau deswegen stellt sich die Frage: Wer sind diese Charaktere, die ihren Weg aus der TikTok-Welt (#diaryofasickperson) nach draußen angetreten haben?

 Die Young Business Woman… ist erwerbslos und postet Coachings auf Instagram. Auf den ersten Blick erscheint sie als gescheiterte Existenz, die versucht, aus ihrem Scheitern Kapital zu schlagen. Ein wenig verkrampft trägt sie ihre Situation nach außen, vermeintlich um ihr Selbstwertgefühl aufzupolieren. Tatsächlich wehrt sie sich aber sich gegen den Eindruck, erwerbslos und damit nutzlos zu sein. Die Young Business Woman… ist kein „Opfer“ des Arbeitsmarktes. Ihr Nicht-Partizipieren am kapitalistischen System versteht sie als Notwendigkeit für eben dieses. Der gesellschaftliche Blick auf ihr (Nicht)-Handeln ist Bezugsrahmen für ihren Aktivismus. Die Young Business Woman… manifestiert eine Welt ohne Geschäft und Ausbeutung. Sie weiß, dass dies bedeutet, dass es kein Business mehr geben kann 

Ihr gegenüber steht die Sick Person, deren Krankheitsverlauf in Form eines Online-Tagebuchs geteilt wird. In den Videos spricht die Sick Person niemals selbst, sondern eine Off-Stimme erzählt: “The only thing that irritates is the sick person - every person passing by, triggers an uncomfortable desolate feeling - it is as if the sick person is carrying the discomfort of others.” Die Sick Person spiegelt menschliche Zerbrechlichkeit und symbolisiert Unzulänglichkeit und Endlichkeit. Die Persona schafft Unbehagen und reflektiert Ängste vor Ineffizienz und Kontrollverlust.

 Beide Charaktere bewegen sich in ähnlichen Räumen und stecken in ihren jeweiligen Endlosschleifen fest. Sie schaffen eine persönliche Verbindung zum Publikum, indem sie vertraute Momente der Krankheit und des Zweifelns, der Krise und des Ausgelaugtseins ins Bild setzen.

Die Sick Person und die Young Business Woman… versuchen die Angst vor dem eigenen Scheitern umzuadressieren und diese in eine Skepsis zu verwandeln, die sich gegen ein System richtet, das Menschen als ersetzbare Teile eines Verwertungskreislaufs betrachtet.

Mehr Informationen zur Ausstellungsreihe hier

DSC_9000_comp.jpeg
DSC_9017_comp.jpeg
DSC_9050.jpeg
DSC_9044_comp.jpeg
DSC_9028_comp.jpeg

KVHBF Showcases
DSC_9021_comp.jpeg

Grind&Shine Inc. by Cake&Cash presents
Francis Kussatz

August 21 — October 3, 2021

With the fictional personas Young Business Woman Without A Business and Sick Person, Francis Kussatz and Xiaofu Wang question the definitions of functionality and productivity, thereby inviting us to deconstruct them within our own thinking. Both figures are creations that have previously appeared in primarily videos and photos on social media. In the showcases of the Kunstverein, they are now given a physical stage on which the two characters enter into a dialogue with themselves and those passing by on the platform. As character tropes, Kussatz's personas are emblematic of Generation Y's social dilemma; between striving for authenticity and over-adaptation.

 “Don’t assume anything about anyone.”, says the Young Business Woman Without A Business in one of her videos. In spite of this, or particularly because of this, the following question arises: Who are these characters, who have taken the path from the TikTok-World (#diaryofasickperson) to the outside?

The Young Business Woman… is unemployed and posts coachings on Instagram. Upon first glance, she appears to be a failed existence who is trying to capitalize on her failure. Slightly tense, she presents her situation to the outside world, supposedly to polish up her self-esteem. In fact, however, she resists the impression of being unemployed and thus useless. The Young Business Woman... is not a "victim" of the labor market. She understands her non-participation in the capitalist system as a necessity for this very system. The social view of her (non)-action is the frame of reference for her activism. The Young Business Woman... manifests a world without business and exploitation. She knows that this means that there can be no more business.

Opposite to her is the Sick Person, whose course of illness is shared in the form of an online diary. In their videos, they never speak themselves, but an off-voice narrates about they: “The only thing that irritates is the sick person - every person passing by, triggers an uncomfortable desolate feeling - it is as if the sick person is carrying the discomfort of others.” The Sick Person represents and mirrors human frailty. They are a symbol of inadequacy and finitude. It creates discomfort and reflects fears of inefficiency and loss of control.

Both characters move in similar spaces and are stuck in their respective never-ending loops. They create a personal connection with the audience by depicting familiar moments of illness and doubt, crisis and exhaustion.

The Sick Person and the Young Business Woman... seek to re-address the fear of one's own failure and transform it into skepticism directed at a system that views people as replaceable elements of a circuit of commodification.

More information on the exhibition series


DSC_9000_comp.jpeg
DSC_9017_comp.jpeg
DSC_9050.jpeg
DSC_9044_comp.jpeg
DSC_9028_comp.jpeg