KVHBF Showcases
KVHBF_SM+EM32.jpeg

Dialogue 5:
See U Th3re
Elisabeth Moch & Sara Malie

January 29 — February 28, 2021

Showcases
Sara Malie and Elisabeth Moch

Schrödinger's cat, a steel crossword puzzle and a steel dust print, woven fabric made of plant fragments, a knitted scarf, and a bouquet of flowers as a reverse glass fibre painting may at first have little in common. In Dialogue 5 of the series "See U Th3re - Dialogues between Windows" by Sara Malie and Elisabeth Moch, however, these different social, cultural, and epistemic codes intertwine and attempt to bring a certain order to these symbols of simultaneously connected and paradoxical structures. Presence and absence, everyday experiences, networks and techniques determine the installations in the showcases at the HFBK and the KVHBF, which are themselves simultaneously specific and paradoxical.

Elisabeth Moch incorporates various materials into her fabrics, including dried nettles, which are said to have mythical and healing powers. This kind of (traditionally female) knowledge combines with another kind of knowledge in the weaving technique: The processes of warp and weft and the binary punch card logic of 0 and 1 of the loom, create a fabric which surpasses purely material qualities.

Means and motifs of industrialisation play a role in Malie's work as well. This is referred to in her steel dust print, the archetypical material of which is presented here as a fragile trace. At the same time, the imprint refers to the KVHBF showcases, which exhibits the sculptural work. A steel crossword puzzle draws a relation to the so-called hypothetical experiment "Schrödinger's cat". It illustrates a quantum mechanical paradox of atomic compositions which depend on the moment of observation, i.e. what is "seen" by the observer does not actually exist. Similarly, in crossword puzzles, the previously known and seen answers and the free spaces of possible solutions are paradoxically dependent on one another: what is already seen/known enables the recognition of later solutions, but can equally prevent or restrict further answers. This serves as an illustration of how a faulty foundation can never really manage the randomness, chaos and contradictions of reality.

Whilst both solutions remain absent in Sara Malie`s work, a notion of expectations arises. Elisabeth Moch also plays with these expectations and uses different techniques and materials to create a rustic parlour, alluding to both a waiting room and a shop window: carved woodwork, an unfinished knitted piece, a reverse glass fibre painting and a chain of lights combine to create a setting between traditionalism and modern technology. The glass fibre material, which is used industrially for shipbuilding and aircraft construction, space travel and digitalisation, emanates the connotation of technology and masculinity and represents a basic building block of modern networking. In Moch's artistic work this material is met with playful, feminine notions reminiscent of decoration, domesticity and care, and self-woven, archaic-looking fabrics.

Through their medial and conceptual contrasts, the reciprocal conditions and simultaneous non-simultaneities, the form and meaning of showcases in themselves are questioned. Sara Malie and Elisabeth Moch question the gaze as a motif, and in such, the occasional contradiction between representation and observation. With this moment of viewing and the separation through glass, the showcases create a paradoxical spatial situation: the superimposition of two states can represent a possible state - as in the thought experiment of Schrödinger's cat. Likewise, such a moment paradox occurs in the showcase, which transcends to become both a farmhouse parlour and a waiting room.

In five dialogical exhibitions since October 2020, two out of a total of ten artistic positions not only meet but also meet the respective characteristics of the exhibition locations. At the beginning there was an open call, which asked to question, challenge and rethink the showcases and the inscribed logic of representation and visibility in terms of feminism, care and friendship.

Sara Malie (*1992) lives and works in Hamburg and on the danish island of Fyn. Believing in the political potential of science fiction, Sara’s sculptures and installations often take shape of dystopic landscapes or instruments. By mimicking systems or chains of events, her pieces play with a conspiratorial anticipation, encouraging the viewer to try to abandon their integrated system of common and cultural logic.

Elisabeth Moch's (*1991, lives and works in Hamburg) work plays with the (contradictory and simultaneously complementary) role of folkloristic artwork and domesticity within a digital, networked and hyper-cultural world. Smoothness and chaos, mechanic and handcrafted/artisinal production, the visionary and the nostaligic, and the relation between the individual and society. She materialises these dualities in her installations and picture objects. Through her work with various craft techniques and genres including weaving, wood carving, and a self-developed method of reverse glass-painting, the artist creates sculptural and pictural objects and thus stages interior spaces of a both rural and sacred nature.

Podcast 5:
Care by Sascia Bailer & Laura Mahnke

KVHBF_SM+EM38.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM35.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM49.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM50.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM51.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM52.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM56.jpeg

KVHBF Vitrinen
KVHBF_SM+EM32.jpeg

Dialog 5:
See U Th3re
Elisabeth Moch & Sara Malie

29. Januar — 28. Februar 2021

Vitrinen
Sara Malie und Elisabeth Moch

Schrödingers Katze, ein stählernes Kreuzworträtsel und ein Stahlstaubabdruck, Gewebe aus Pflanzenteilen, ein Strickschal und ein Blumenstrauß als Hinterglasmalerei mögen zunächst wenig gemeinsam haben. In Dialog 5 der Reihe „See U Th3re – Dialoge zwischen Fenstern“ von Sara Malie und Elisabeth Moch aber greifen diese unterschiedlichen sozialen, kulturellen und epistemischen Codes ineinander und versuchen eine gewisse Ordnung in diese Zeichen von gleichzeitig verbundenen und paradoxen Strukturen zu bringen. An- und Abwesenheiten, alltägliche Erfahrungen, Netzwerke und Techniken bestimmen die ihrerseits gleichzeitig präzisen und paradoxen Installationen in der Vitrine der HFBK und den KVHBF Vitrinen.

Elisabeth Moch arbeitet in ihre Gewebe unter anderem getrocknete Brennnesseln ein, denen mythische und heilende Kräfte zugesprochen werden. Diese Art von (traditionell weiblichem) Wissen verbindet sich in der Webtechnik mit einer anderen Art von Wissen: Aus Kette und Schuss und der binären Lochkartenlogik von 0 und 1 des Webstuhls entsteht ein nicht nur materielles Gewebe.

Auch Malie verweist mit ihrer Stahlstaubabdruck auf die Industrialisierung, dessen archetypisches Material sich hier als fragile Spur zeigt. Der Abdruck verweist zugleich auf die KVHBF Vitrinen, wo die Arbeit als Skulptur zu sehen ist. Ein stählernes Kreuzworträtsel setzt sie in Beziehung zum als "Schrödingers Katze" bekannten hypothetischen Experiment. Es veranschaulicht ein quantenmechanisches Paradoxon atomarer Zusammenstellungen, die vom Moment der Beobachtung abhängen also das vom Betrachter "Gesehene", tatsächlich nicht-Vorhandene. Ähnlich stehen auch bei Kreuzworträtseln die vorher gesehenen/gewussten Antworten und die freien Lösungsmöglichkeiten in einer paradoxen Abhängigkeit zu einander: Sie ermöglichen die Erkenntnis späterer Lösungen, können allerdings gleichermaßen weitere Antworten verhindern/einschränken. Dies dient als Verbildlichung davon, wie eine fehlerhafte Grundlage das tatsächliche Chaos und die Widersprüche der Realität nie wirklich bewältigen kann.

Die Lösungen bleiben bei Sara Malie beide abwesend, eine Idee von Erwartung aber scheint auf. Elisabeth Moch spielt ebenfalls mit diesen Erwartungen und hat mittels unterschiedlicher Techniken und Materialien eine bäuerliche Stube zwischen Warteraum und Schaufenster gestaltet: geschnitzte Holzarbeiten, eine noch nicht fertige Strickarbeit, eine Hinterglasfasermalerei und eine Lichterkette verbinden sich zu einem Setting zwischen Traditionalität und moderner Technik. Die technisch-männliche Konnotation des Materials Glasfaser, das industriell für den Schiffs- und Flugzeugbau, die Raumfahrt und Digitalisierung genutzt wird, stellt einen Grundbaustein der modernen Vernetzung dar. In Mochs künstlerischen Arbeit trifft das Material auf verspielte, klischeebedingt weiblich konnotierte, an Dekoration, Häuslichkeit und Fürsorge erinnernde Symbole und selbstgewobene, archaisch anmutende Stoffe.

Durch ihre medialen und konzeptionellen Gegensätze, die wechselseitigen Bedingungen und gleichzeitigen Ungleichzeitigkeiten werden die Vitrinen als solche infrage gestellt. Sara Malie und Elisabeth Moch hinterfragen den Blick als Motiv, das manchmal auch widersprüchliche Darstellen und das Beobachten. Mit diesem Betrachter*innenmoment und der Trennung durch Glas kreieren die Vitrinen eine paradoxe Raumsituation: Die Überlagerung zweier Zustände kann einen möglichen Zustand darstellen - wie im Gedankenexperiment von Schrödingers Katze. Und wie in der Vitrine, die zur Bauernstube, zum Warteraum wird.

In fünf dialogischen Ausstellungen treffen seit Oktober 2020 je zwei von insgesamt zehn künstlerischen Positionen nicht nur aufeinander, sondern auch auf die jeweiligen Eigenschaften der Ausstellungsorte. Am Anfang stand ein Open Call, der danach fragte, die Vitrinen und die ihnen eingeschriebene Logik von Repräsentation und Sichtbarkeit in Hinblick auf Feminismus, Care und Freundschaft zu hinterfragen, herauszufordern und umzudenken.

Sara Malie (*1992) lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg und auf der dänischen Insel Fünen. Verankert in dem Glauben, dass Science Fiction politisches Potential trägt, nehmen Saras Skulpturen und Installationen oft die Form dystopischer Landschaften oder Instrumente an. Indem sie Systeme oder Ereignisketten nachahmen, spielen ihre Stücke mit einer konspirativen Vorahnung und ermutigen den Betrachter zu dem Versuch, ihr integriertes System der gemeinsamen und kulturellen Logik zu verlassen.

Elisabeth Mochs (*1991, lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg) Arbeiten spielen mit der Rolle der Volkskunst als auch der Häuslichkeit innerhalb einer digitalen, vernetzten und hyperkulturellen Welt. Glätte und Chaos, maschinelle Herstellung und Handwerk, Visionäres und Nostalgisches, als auch das Verhältnis des Individuums zur Gemeinschaft materialisieren sich in ihren Installationen und Bildobjekten. Im Umgang mit kunsthandwerklichen Techniken und Genres, wie dem Weben, Schnitzen und einer eigens entwickelten Form der Hinterglasmalerei, erschafft sie skulpturale Bildobjekte und inszeniert Räume, die sowohl an bäuerliches als auch an sakrales Interieur erinnern.

Podcast 5:
Care mit Sascia Bailer & Laura Mahnke

KVHBF_SM+EM38.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM35.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM49.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM50.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM51.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM52.jpeg
KVHBF_SM+EM56.jpeg