KVHBF Showcases
KVHBF_PE+MF_15.jpeg

Dialogue 4:
See U Th3re
Priska Engelhardt & Marthe Fock

January 9 — January 24, 2021

Showcases
Priska Engelhardt & Marthe Fock

Dialogue 4 in the series “See U Th3re - Dialogues Between Windows” is the first collaboration between Priska Engelhardt and Marthe Fock.
In five dialogical exhibitions since October 2020, two out of a total of ten artistic positions not only meet but also meet the respective characteristics of the exhibition locations. At the beginning there was an open call, which asked to question, challenge and rethink the showcases and the inscribed logic of representation and visibility in terms of feminism, care and friendship.

The collaboration between Priska Engelhardt and Marthe Fock focuses on "care" and uses a specific and ambivalent material for this: cool / hot packs. With their blue liquid packed in plastic, they do not exactly embody the epitome of what consolation, care and concern generally represent, and yet this function is outsourced to them. Just the expectation of the cool pack lets tears dry up. It makes the suffering and its care visible. The material is emotionally charged with supposedly maximum adaptability to different physical and psychological needs. They are transferred to the blue-filled plastic package that paradoxically embodies care and reproduces it as a fleeting distorted image. Its care function is continuously used up. Its multifunctional, supra-individual and abstracted care work is also realized in the slash.
Priska Engelhardt and Marthe Fock choose different shapes for their examination of the cool / hot packs in the KVHBF showcases and the showcase in the foyer of the HFBK - full and empty packs, photography, cool / hot packs turned into forms of large-scale body covering - opening up material and color as a space for reflection on care and its complex socio-functional entanglements between mutual provision and isolation.


Podcast
Nothing Worthwhile is Done Alone: On Friendship and Feminist Organising*
Feminist Duration Reading Group 




KVHBF_PE+MF_20.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_17.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_23.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_25.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_28.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_01.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_03.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_05.jpeg

KVHBF Vitrinen
KVHBF_PE+MF_15.jpeg

Dialog 4:
See U Th3re
Priska Engelhardt & Marthe Fock

9. Januar — 24. Januar 2021

Vitrinen
Priska Engelhardt & Marthe Fock

Dialog 4 der Reihe „See U Th3re – Dialoge zwischen Fenstern“ ist die erste Zusammenarbeit von Priska Engelhardt und Marthe Fock.
In fünf dialogischen Ausstellungen treffen seit Oktober 2020 je zwei von insgesamt zehn künstlerischen Positionen nicht nur aufeinander, sondern auch auf die jeweiligen Eigenschaften der Ausstellungsorte. Am Anfang stand ein Open Call, der danach fragte, die Vitrinen und die ihnen eingeschriebene Logik von Repräsentation und Sichtbarkeit in Hinblick auf Feminismus, Care und Freundschaft zu hinterfragen, herauszufordern und umzudenken.

Die Zusammenarbeit von Priska Engelhardt und Marthe Fock fokussiert auf „Care“ und nutzt hierfür ein spezifisches und ambivalentes Material: Kühl-/Wärmekissen. Mit ihrer blauen Flüssigkeit in Plastik verpackt verkörpern sie nicht gerade den Inbegriff dessen, was Trost, Pflege und Sorge gemeinhin darstellen und dennoch ist diese Funktion an sie ausgelagert. Schon die Erwartung des Kühlkissens lässt Tränen versiegen. Es macht das Leid und seine Umsorgung sichtbar. Das Material ist emotional besetzt bei vermeintlich maximaler Anpassungsfähigkeit an unterschiedlich zu umsorgende, körperliche wie seelische Bedürfnisse. Sie werden ausgelagert an das blau gefüllte Plastikpäckchen, das Care paradoxer Weise verkörpert und als flüchtiges Zerrbild wiedergibt. Seine Care-Funktion verbraucht sich dabei kontinuierlich. Seine multifunktionale, überindividuelle und abstrahierte Carearbeit realisiert sich dabei auch in dem Schrägstrich.
Priska Engelhardt und Marthe Fock wählen für ihre Auseinandersetzung mit den Kühl-/Wärmekissen in den KVHBF Vitrinen und der Vitrine im Foyer der HFBK unterschiedliche Formen – volle und leere Packs, fotografische Annäherungen, nutzen Kühl-/Wärmekissen für Formen der großflächigen Körperbedeckung – und eröffnen Material und Farbe als Reflexionsraum über Care und seine komplexen gesellschaftlich-funktionalen Verstrickungen zwischen Fürsorge und Isolation.


Podcast
Nothing Worthwhile is Done Alone: On Friendship and Feminist Organising*
Feminist Duration Reading Group
(in englischer Sprache)





KVHBF_PE+MF_20.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_17.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_23.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_25.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_28.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_01.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_03.jpeg
KVHBF_PE+MF_05.jpeg