Materials

Podcast 5: Care
Sascia Bailer & Laura Mahnke

January 29 — February 28, 2021

Especially since the pandemic, care has become an integral part of public discourse. In their conversation, artist Laura Mahnke and curator Sascia Bailer question whether it is enough to create visibility for care. More specifically they ask: What comes after visibility? How can structures of care be created and implemented?
Drawing on their artistic and curatorial practices - but also on their lived realities as mothers of young children - their conversation addresses the tensions between care, visibility, exhaustion, and social structures. They argue for exploring care as an organizational principle in order to make alternative infrastructures of the interpersonal a reality - where care is not a buzzword, but an ethical attitude of solidarity, togetherness and mutual support.

Sascia Bailer works at the intersection of curation, public space, and social justice. She was the artistic director 2019/20 of M.1 at the Arthur Boskamp Foundation in Hohenlockstedt, where she initiated a participatory program focusing on care. She is also working on her PhD at Zurich University of the Arts & University of Reading, researching the relationship between curatorial work and care.

Laura Mahnke studies experimental design and time-related media at the University of Fine Arts in Hamburg. She is one of eight women who form the feminist curatorial collective Cake&Cash. Through experiments with solidarity-based working methods, the collective strives to make unseen care work and preparatory processes of artistic production visible and transparent. For this purpose of visibility and an open discourse about care, Cake&Cash has an office in the HFBK gallery, established in November.

Read more: Showcases Sara Mikkelsen & Elisabeth Moch
Read more: See U th3re - dialogues between windows

Materialien

Podcast 5: Care
Sascia Bailer & Laura Mahnke

29. Januar — 28. Februar 2021

Care ist spätestens seit der Pandemie aus dem öffentlichen Diskurs nicht mehr wegzudenken. Die Künstlerin Laura Mahnke und die Kuratorin Sascia Bailer stellen in ihrem Gespräch infrage, ob es reicht, Sichtbarkeit für Fürsorge herzustellen. Sie fragen vielmehr: Was kommt nach Sichtbarkeit? Wie können Strukturen der Fürsorge geschaffen werden?
Ausgehend von ihren künstlerischen und kuratorischen Praktiken - aber auch ausgehend von ihren gelebten Realitäten als Mütter kleiner Kinder - widmen sie sich in ihrem Gespräch den Spannungsfeldern zwischen Fürsorge, Sichtbarkeit, Erschöpfung und sozialen Strukturen. Sie plädieren dafür, Care als Organisationsprinzip auszuloten, um alternative Infrastrukturen des Zwischenmenschlichen Realität werden zu lassen - bei denen Care kein Buzzword ist, sondern ein ethische Haltung des Miteinanders. 

Sascia Bailer arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Kuratieren, öffentlichem Raum und sozialer Gerechtigkeit. Sie war Künstlerische Leiterin 2019/20 von M.1 der Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung in Hohenlockstedt, bei dem sie ein partizipatives Programm zum Thema Care initiiert hat. Außerdem promoviert sie an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste & University of Reading zum Verhältnis von Kuratieren und Care.

Laura Mahnke studiert Experimentelles Design und Zeitbezogene Medien an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg. Sie ist eine von acht Frauen, die gemeinsam das feministische, kuratorische Kollektiv Cake&Cash bilden. Mit dem Kollektiv experimentieren sie mit solidarischen Arbeitsmethoden und versuchen, ungesehene Care-Arbeit und Vorbereitungsprozesse der künstlerischen Produktion sichtbar und transparent zu machen. Seit November gibt es dafür in der HFBK Galerie das Cake&Cash Büro.

Weiterlesen: Vitrinen Sara Mikkelsen & Elisabeth Moch
Weiterlesen: See U Th3re - dialogues between windows