Exhibitions
IMG_9993.jpg

should we get lunch, I want to burn this place down

September 26 — October 4, 2020
Exhibition within the exhibition with:
Verena Hahn, Anna-Lisa Högler, Lilli Thießen, Angharad Williams, Robert Brambora, Frieder Haller, Jonas Justen, Simon Mielke, Maximilian Schneider, Alexander Schöpfel, Niklas Taleb

Opening: Friday, 25 September 2020, 7 pm

For the last week of Phung-Tien Phan's exhibition “Café Chardonnay – alles nehmen” at the Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof, her solo exhibition is transformed into the group exhibition “Should we get lunch, I want to burn this place down”. The artist has invited eleven other artists to show their work. For this, some of Phan's works leave the exhibition, while others remain in the new context.

The focus is still on the question of the place one wants to occupy in one's own life as well as a youthful attitude of search, frustration, aggression and emotionality. In a dramatic setting, the darkened windows of the exhibition space are replaced by window pictures by Simon Mielke. Views of dramatic sunsets open up from empty living spaces and contrast the banality of the interior. In general, this relationship between different realities and longings plays a major role: working nine to five, being a normy and then on the weekend: rave. Or prep like in Verena Hahn's documentary. In Gender Identities (Lilli Thießen), the spatial and subjective interior (Frieder Haller) as well as in intimacies (Robert Brambora), this oppressive narrowness of realities is evident.

While Phan's exhibition was perhaps a kind of symbolic middle course par excellence, it now shows above all the balance between normality and brutality and a swing between extreme demands in an affect-seeking society.
KVHBF_2020_lunchshow_Installationsansicht_02_005_web.jpg
KVHBF_046_web.jpg
KVHBF_059_web.jpg
KVHBF_038_web.jpg
KVHBF_022_web.jpg
KVHBF_2020_lunchshow_Installationsansicht_03_006_web.jpg
KVHBF_043_web.jpg
KVHBF_030_web.jpg
KVHBF_052_web.jpg
KVHBF_2020_lunchshow_Installationsansicht_04_FriederHaller_012_web.jpg
KVHBF_069_web.jpg
KVHBF_053_web.jpg
KVHBF_056_web.jpg
KVHBF_045_web.jpg
KVHBF_2020_lunchshow_Installationsansicht_01_002_web.jpg

Ausstellungen
IMG_9993.jpg

should we get lunch, I want to burn this place down

26. September — 4. Oktober 2020

Ausstellung in der Ausstellung mit:
Verena Hahn, Anna-Lisa Högler, Lilli Thießen, Angharad Williams, Robert Brambora, Frieder Haller, Jonas Justen, Simon Mielke, Maximilian Schneider, Alexander Schöpfel, Niklas Taleb

Eröffnung: Freitag, 25. September 2020, 19 Uhr

Für die letzte Ausstellungswoche von Phung-Tien Phans Ausstellung „Café Chardonnay - alles nehmen“ im Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof wandelt sich die Einzelausstellung zu einer Gruppenausstellung mit dem Titel „Should we get lunch, I want to burn this place down“. Die Künstlerin hat elf weitere Künstler*innen eingeladen, ihre Arbeiten zu zeigen. Hierfür verlassen einige von Phans Arbeiten die Ausstellung, während andere im neuen Kontext verbleiben.

Im Zentrum steht noch stets die Frage nach dem Platz, den man im eigenen Leben einnehmen will ebenso wie eine jugendliche Attitüde der Suche, der Frustration, Aggression und Emotionalität. In einem dramatischen Setting werden die verdunkelten Fenster des Ausstellungsraumes durch Fensterbilder von Simon Mielke ersetzt. Aus leeren Wohnräumen öffnen sich Ausblicke auf dramatische Sonnenuntergänge und kontrastieren die Banalität des Innenraums. Überhaupt spielt dieses Verhältnis zwischen verschiedenen Realitäten und Sehnsüchten eine große Rolle: Nine to Five arbeiten, Normalo sein und dann am Wochenende: Rave. Oder auch Preppen wie in Verena Hahns Dokumentarfilm. In Geschlechteridentitäten (Lilli Thießen), dem räumlichen und subjektiven Interieur (Frieder Haller) ebenso wie in Intimitäten (Robert Brambora) zeigt sich diese bedrückende Enge von Realitäten.

War Phans Ausstellung zuvor vielleicht eine Art sinnbildlicher Mittelweg par excellence, zeigt sich nun vor allen Dingen die Balance zwischen Normalität und Brutalität und ein Pendeln zwischen extremen Anforderungen in einer affektsuchenden Gesellschaft.

KVHBF_2020_lunchshow_Installationsansicht_02_005_web.jpg
KVHBF_046_web.jpg
KVHBF_059_web.jpg
KVHBF_038_web.jpg
KVHBF_022_web.jpg
KVHBF_2020_lunchshow_Installationsansicht_03_006_web.jpg
KVHBF_043_web.jpg
KVHBF_030_web.jpg
KVHBF_052_web.jpg
KVHBF_2020_lunchshow_Installationsansicht_04_FriederHaller_012_web.jpg
KVHBF_069_web.jpg
KVHBF_053_web.jpg
KVHBF_056_web.jpg
KVHBF_045_web.jpg
KVHBF_2020_lunchshow_Installationsansicht_01_002_web.jpg