Exhibition
Five%20in%20Fives%20Web-1.jpg

Five in Fives #1: Opener

September 25 at 7:00 PM — September 29, 2019

26 - 29 September 2019

Five in Fives #1: Opener

Elisa Barrera, Fernando Marques Penteado, Fion Pellacini

Opening: 25 September, 7pm

+ 8pm: Mark von Schlegell, Secret Lifestyles of the Plants: a bouquet reading (EN), with Sounds by Melissa E. Logan

_DSC0342.jpg
Foto: Michael Pfisterer


Opener
 is the first Five in Fives exhibition and will take us to the locations of play: When notions of identity and belonging turn into fixed terms, we will look for open meshes in the net and escape, to cross and overgrow borders.
Elisa Barrera ’s work in this exhibition is activating the visitor’s curiosity and sense of expedition, inviting him to move through the space in order to be able to see: She has placed two insects into the exhibition, two butterflies cut from metal plates. What may seem as a white rectangle on a first, frontal sight, is hiding a drawing of an Iris flower only to be dicovered when looking at it sideways. Like in a personal diary, the silver lock will keep the visitor from being able to open it further.
The selection of four portraits on rackets derive from the series of works entitled “men in trouble” - a project started by fernando marques penteado in 2018. The series portrays fictional male figures whose backstories have evolved stitch by stitch on the woven surface of sports rackets. Using drawing, text, textile and embroidery, the portraits express the struggles of contemporary masculine life, addressing questions of gender, sexuality and regimes of power within society. Their livestories are literarilly stitched to the net of a racket. The characteristics of these figures can be read in a booklet that is part of the exhibition.
The new video by Fion Pellacini combines slow motion cellphone imagery from sites of ball sport: The original Eton Fives Court at the outside wall of Eton Chapel, a walk by shot of the 16 Eton Fives Courts currently in use at Eton College, and mysterious imagery from a fenced real estate property ground in Sao Paulo displaying a selection of huge footballs to be appropriated by a skilled climber. The film includes sounds composed by the artist as well as a text on Fives by Mark von Schlegel, by chance former Fives player himself.

25.9., 8pm
Mark von Schlegell Secret Lifestyles of the Plants: a bouquet reading with acoustics by Melissa E. Logan (Chicks on Speed).
Mark von Schlegell’s bouquet reading at the Kunstverein is composed like a selection from a garden, cut up out of passages from various of his writings engaging with the point of view and politics of plantlife. longside sounds created by Melissa E.Logan he uses the immersion potential of the language to confront us with marginalized realities.

IMG_0519.jpg



Elisa Barrera studied at Hochschule für Bildende Künste with Jutta Koether. Her works have been exhibited at Almanac, Turin (2018); DELF, Wien (2017); Halle für Kunst Lüneburg (2017) and Kunstverein Schwerin (2017).She is co-founder of the project space Come Over Chez Malik's and lives and works in Hamburg

Fernando Marques Penteado (* 1955 São Paulo) studied Visual Arts/ Textiles at Goldsmiths College, University of London. His works have been presented in exhibitions at Centro Internacional das Artes José de Guimarães, Gumiarães, Portugal (2016); Jewish Museum, New York (2015); National Gallery of Art, Warsaw (2013); Museu Regional do Algarve, Faro, Portugal (2010); Frankfurter Kunstverein (2008). He lives and works in Brussels.

Fion Pellacini (*1986 in Homburg a. d. Saar) studied Fine Arts at Hochschule für Bildende Künste, Hamburg with Andreas Slominski, Hanne Loreck and Heike Mutter (MA 2017) and works with sculpture, graphic design, performance and sound. His works and compositions were presented at Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe, Hamburg (2017/18);  Kloster Lorsch (2016); David Roberts Art Foundation, London (2015); Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn (2013). He is co-founder of the artist run space Il Caminetto. In 2019 he was awarded the grant by the city of Hamburg, Hamburger Arbeitsstipendium für Bildende Kunst as well as a project funding by Stiftung Kunstfonds. He lives and works in Hamburg.

Mark von Schlegell (*1967 in New York) is a science fiction writer und cultural critic. He writes screenplays, publishes novels and theatre pieces, essays and is an art critic for various art magazines. He lives and works in Cologne. 

_DSC0357.jpg
_DSC0347.jpg
_DSC0312.jpg
_DSC0321.jpg

Ausstellungen
Five%20in%20Fives%20Web-1.jpg

Five in Fives #1: Opener

25. September, 19:00 Uhr — 29. September 2019

26.-29. September 2019

Five in Fives #1: Opener

Elisa Barrera, Fernando Marques Penteado, Fion Pellacini

Eröffnung: 25. September, 19 Uhr

+ 20 Uhr Mark von Schlegell, Secret Lifestyles of the Plants: a bouquet reading (EN), mit Sounds von Melissa E. Logan

_DSC0342.jpg
Foto: Michael Pfisterer


Opener
ist die erste Ausstellung der Serie Five in Fives und nimmt uns mit an die Orte des Spiels: Wo Identitäten und Zugehörigkeiten sich verfestigen, suchen wir nach den offenen Maschen im Netz, um auszubrechen, Grenzen zu überwinden und zu überwuchern. 
Elisa Barreras Arbeiten in dieser Ausstellung fordern die Neugier und Entdeckersinn der Besucher heraus indem sie Sehen und Bewegung verbinden: In der Ausstellung befinden sich zwei von ihr platzierte Insekten, zwei aus flachemMetall ausgeschnittene Schmetterlinge. Was auf den ersten, von vorn gerichteten Blick wie ein weißes Rechteck erscheint, enthüllt beim seitlichen Betrachten die Zeichnung einer Irisblüte. Wie in einem Tagebuch hält ein silberner Verschluss die Betrachter davon ab, das Werk weiter zu öffnen.
Die Ausstellung zeigt außerdem einen Auszug von vier Portraits auf Sportschlägern aus der Serie “men in trouble” - einem Projekt, an dem fernando marques penteado seit 2018 arbeitet. Mit dieser Werkreihe portraitiert der Künstler fiktionale männliche Figuren, deren Hintergrundgeschichten sich Stich für Stich im Netz der Schlagfläche des Schlägers entfalten. Mit Zeichnung, Text, Textil und Stickerei verkörpern diese Portraits die Schwierigkeiten zeitgenössischer männlicher Biografien, indem sie gender, Sexualität und gesellschaftliche Machtstrukturen thematisieren. Ihre Lebensgeschichten sind mit dem Schläger verwoben. Zur Ausstellung ist ein Heft mit längeren Charakterbeschreibungen zu jedem der Figuren entstanden.
Das neue Video von Fion Pellacini besteht aus verschiedenen verlangsamt abgespielten Sequenzen, die mit dem Handy an Orten des Ballspiels aufgenommen wurden, untermalt mit den Worten eines Texts von Mark von Schlegell, selbst ehemaliger Fives Spieler: Zu sehen sind hintereinander der original Eton Fives Court an der Außenwand der Eton Chapel, eine Kamerafahrt entlang der 16 Courts die derzeit am Eton College in Benutzung sind, sowie eine Kamerafahrt entlang eines eingezäunten Grundstücks in Sao Paulo, auf dem einige übergroße Fußbälle liegen, die sich ein begabter Kletterer aneignet.

25.9., 20 Uhr
Mark von Schlegell:  Secret Lifestyles of the Plants: a bouquet reading mit Sounds von Melissa E. Logan (Chicks on Speed)
Die Lesung des amerikanischen Science Fiction Autors Mark von Schlegell (*1967 in new York, lebt in Köln) ist wie ein Blumenstrauß aus dem Garten zusammengeschnitten aus verschiedenen seiner Texte, die sich mit der Sichtweise von Pflanzen und den Politiken des Pflanzenlebens auseinandersetzen. Begleitet wird er durch Live Sounds der Künstlerin und Musikerin Melissa E. Logan (Chicks on Speed). Gemeinsam nutzen sie das Immersionspotential von Sprache um uns mit marginalisierten Realitäten zu konfrontieren.

IMG_0519.jpg


Elisa Barrera (*1989, Turin) studierte an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste bei Jutta Koether. Ihre Arbeiten waren in Ausstellungen in den folgenden Institutionen zu sehen: Almanac, Turin (2018); DELF, Wien (2017); Halle für Kunst Lüneburg (2017), und Kunstverein Schwerin (2017). Sie ist Mitbetreiberin des Ausstellungsraums Come Over Chez Malik's und lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg.

Fernando Marques Penteado (* 1955 São Paulo) Studierte Visual Arts/ Textiles am Goldsmiths College, University of London. Seine Werke waren zuletzt u.a. in folgenden Institutionen zu sehen: Centro Internacional das Artes José de Guimarães, Gumiarães, Portugal (2016); Jewish Museum, New York (2015); National Gallery of Art, Warsaw (2013); Museu Regional do Algarve, Faro, Portugal (2010); Frankfurter Kunstverein (2008). Er lebt und arbeitet in Brüssel.

Fion Pellacini (*1986) studierte Bildende Kunst an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste, Hamburg bei Andreas Slominski, Hanne Loreck und Heike Mutter und arbeitet mit Bildhauerei, Grafik, Performance und Musik. Seine Arbeiten und Kompositionen waren u.a. Teil von Ausstellungen an den folgenden Institutionen: Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe, Hamburg (2017/18); Kloster Lorsch (2016); David Roberts Art Foundation, London (2015); Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn (2013). Er ist Mitbegründer des Ausstellungsraums Il Caminetto. 2019 erhielt er das Hamburger Arbeitsstipendium für Bildende Kunst sowie eine Projektförderung der Stiftung Kunstfonds. Er lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg.

Mark von Schlegell (*1967 in New York) ist Science Fiction Autor und Kulturkritiker. Er schreibt Drehbücher, veröffentlicht Romane und Theaterstücke sowie Essays und Kunstkritiken in verschiedenen Kunstmagazinen. Er lebt und arbeitet in Köln.

_DSC0357.jpg
_DSC0347.jpg
_DSC0312.jpg
_DSC0321.jpg