ABYSSAL
ABYSSAL_2.0.jpg

Recordings from the ABYSSAL #5 - #8

November 21, 2020 — January 31, 2021

Broadcasting hours: Wednesday - Sunday, 2 - 6 pm
Live on the first day, afterwards as recording.

To the broadcast here

The ABYSSAL made itself at home on its threshold between real and digital space and will broadcast a rotating program from the Kunstverein Bar. Various artists have been invited, with written contributions, sounds and live-recordings.
The BAD BOY JESUS CITY SWIMMERS CLUB is going to resurface from the ABYSSAL - the depths of the ocean - to host the guests.

PROGRAM

16.1. - 24.1.2021
Julie Gufler (text)
Hye-Eun Kim (sound)

Julie Gufler (*1983) actually reads the texts you hand her at an exhibition opening or gallery show. In the course of her five years of art school studies, that amounted to a whole lot of duh, ahem and yada yada. Wishing to change that, she started writing her own exhibition texts for fellow students whose work she admired. Today, she lives and works as a poet and translator of French Symbolism on the Danish island of Ærø. She also teaches new generations of aspiring artists how writing might make sense of one’s art. And on occasion (if irreplaceably enamoured, or paid in pure gold) she still responds to other artists and their work, in words and beyond.

Hye-Eun Kim currently studies at the HfbK in Hamburg and combines her classical music training with freeform improvisation and repetitive loops to create a spiritual synthesis, in which harsh sounds collide with melodic motifs to explore the space between past, present and a possible future.

9.1. - 15.1.2021
Anna Grath (text)
Plastiq (sound)

On 9 January Plastiq will be live guests at the ABYSSAL.

Anna Grath (* 1983, lives and works in Hamburg) is a sculptor. In her practice, materials, objects and texts of daily use are fragmented, pulled, folded, bent, kinked, bound, squeezed, trimmed and combined. The material is freed and done away with, but it is also forced to fulfill new functions. In the end, her sculptural wall works often behave like minimalist drawings.

Plastiq are Raphaela Andrade, Lena Geue and Luka Lenzin. Plastiq conspires to the moment. Their music is freely improvised throughout, three equally acting voices deny any hierarchy. By playing with beats, voices and keys, they form tracks that sound like this for the first and only time. Rooms, audience and collaborators are mutually responsible for what is created. plastiq explores the interface between synthetic and acoustic, between music, video, performance and theater space, plastiq sounds like krautrock and garage, and the question of their language never arises.

28.11. - 6.12. 2020
Rosanna Graf (text)
Lucrecia Dalt (sound)

On 28 November Lucrecia Dalt will be a live guest at the ABYSSAL.

Rosanna Graf (*1988, lives and works in Hamburg and Berlin) is a video artist, performer and photographer. Writing and a fascination for the magical and disorderly are central to her work.Her artistic works have been showed in the Deichtorhallen Hamburg/Sammlung Falckenberg, Kunstraum Kreuzberg, Berlin and the Kunstverein München, among others. She is a winner of the Karl H. Ditze Prize and received the Hamburger Arbeitsstipendium.
Lucrecia Dalt
(*1980, lives and works in Berlin) is a musician and sound artist. Her work is inspired by fictional worlds, poetry and geology. Her sound works were heard international, including in the Issue Project Room, Pioneer Works in New York, the Museum of Modern Art in Medellín and the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

21.11. - 27.11.2020
Stefan Ivanov (text)
Sebastian Kokus & Thomas Korf (sound)

On 21 November Sebastian Kokus and Thomas Korf will be live guests at the ABYSSAL.

Stefan Ivanov (*1986, lives in Sofia) is a poet, playwright and journalist. He writes alone but prefers to be inclusive of other artists in his work and ideas. He describes his stage work in the terms of structures which are filled up with the presence and immediacy of audience, poets, actors, artists and musicians.
Sebastian Kokus and Thomas Korf (born 1982 live and work in Hamburg) are among other things 2/3 of the band LOVE-SONGS (Bureau B), who have been moving between the musical tension of improvisational snapshots and fixed grids with several releases since 2012 .


****
This program by Mitko Mitkov is supported by fund »Kunst kennt keinen Shutdown« (There is no shutdown in art).

****

Mitko Mitkov (born in 1989, lives in Hamburg) is the founder of the BAD BOY JESUS CITY SWIMMERS CLUB. His artistic practise appropriates a number of different roles—caretaker service, curator, magazine editor, graphic designer, publisher, and founder of an association. Mostly collaborative within them he explores the fluidity of social spaces. Realism and longing, social criticism and everyday life, seriousness and the joy of coming together all go hand in hand here.



20201121_abyssal_0012.jpg
20201128_abyssal_0436.jpg
20210109_abyssal_0828.jpg
20210116_abyssal_1230.jpg

ABYSSAL
ABYSSAL_2.0.jpg

Aufzeichnungen aus dem ABYSSAL #5 - #8

21. November 2020 — 31. Januar 2021

Streamingzeiten: Mittwoch - Sonntag, 14 - 18 Uhr
Am ersten Ausstrahlungstag live, danach als Aufzeichnung.

Zum Stream hier

Das ABYSSAL hat sich eingerichtet auf seiner Schwelle: Der Schwelle zwischen realem und digitalem Raum und sendet in einem wechselndem Programm aus der Bar des Kunstvereins. Es werden verschiedene Künstler*innen zu Gast sein mit Text-Beiträgen, Sounds und Live-Aufnahmen.
Der BAD BOY JESUS CITY SWIMMERS CLUB wird dafür auftauchen aus dem ABYSSAL, der bodenlosen Tiefe des Ozeans, und die Gäste empfangen.

PROGRAMM

16.1. - 24.1.2021
Julie Gufler (Text)
Hye-Eun Kim (Klang)

Julie Gufler (*1983) liest tatsächlich die Texte, die man ihr bei einer Ausstellungseröffnung oder in der Galerie reicht. Im Laufe ihres fünfjährigen Kunsthochschulstudiums war das eine ganze Menge Duh, Ähem und Blabla. Um das zu ändern, begann sie, eigene Ausstellungstexte für Kommilitonen und Kommilitoninnen zu schreiben, deren Arbeiten sie bewunderte. Heute lebt und arbeitet sie als Dichterin und Übersetzerin des französischen Symbolismus auf der dänischen Insel Ærø. Außerdem lehrt sie neue Generationen von aufstrebenden Künstlern, wie das Schreiben einen Sinn für die eigene Kunst ergeben kann. Und gelegentlich (wenn sie unersetzlich verliebt ist oder mit purem Gold bezahlt wird) antwortet sie immer noch auf andere Künstler*innen und deren Werke, in Worten und darüber hinaus.

Hye-Eun Kim studiert derzeit an der HfbK in Hamburg und verbindet ihre klassische Musikausbildung mit freier Improvisation und repetitiven Loops zu einer spirituellen Synthese, in der harsche Klänge mit melodischen Motiven kollidieren, um den Raum zwischen Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und einer möglichen Zukunft zu erkunden.

9.1. - 15.1.2021
Anna Grath (Text)
Plastiq (Klang)

Am 9.1. sind Plastiq live zu Gast im ABYSSAL.

Anna Grath (*1983, lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg) ist Bildhauerin. In ihrer Praxis werden Materialien, Objekte und Texte des täglichen Gebrauchs fragmentiert, gezogen, gefaltet, gebogen, geknickt, gebunden, gequetscht, beschnitten und kombiniert. Das Material wird befreit und seiner Aufgaben entledigt, aber auch gezwungen, neue Funktionen zu erfüllen. Am Ende verhalten sich ihre skulpturalen Wandarbeiten oft wie minimalistische Zeichnungen.

Plastiq sind Raphaela Andrade, Lena Geue und Luka Lenzin. Plastiq verschwört sich dem Moment. Ihre Musik ist durchweg frei improvisiert, drei gleichberechtigt agierende Stimmen verweigern sich jeglicher Hierarchie. Aus dem Spiel mit Beats, Stimmen und Tasten formen sie Tracks, die so zum ersten und einzigen Mal erklingen. Hierbei sind Räume, Publikum und Kollaborateure wechselwirkend verantwortlich für das, was entsteht. plastiq erforscht die Schnittstelle von synthetisch und akustisch, von Musik, Video, Performance und Theaterraum, plastiq tönt nach Krautrock und Garage, und nie stellt sich die Frage nach ihrer Sprache.

28.11. - 6.12.2020
Rosanna Graf
(Text)
Lucrecia Dalt
(Klang)

Am 28.11. ist Lucrecia Dalt live zu Gast im ABYSSAL.

Rosanna Graf (*1988, lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg und Berlin) ist Videokünstlerin, Fotografin und Performerin. Zentral für ihre Arbeit ist das Schreiben und eine Faszination für das Magische und Ungeordnete. Ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten wurden u. a. in den Deichtorhallen Hamburg/Sammlung Falckenberg, im Kunstraum Kreuzberg, Berlin und dem Kunstverein München gezeigt. Sie ist Preisträgerin des Karl H. Ditze Preises und erhielt das Hamburger Arbeitsstipendium.

Lucrecia Dalt
(*1980, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) ist eine Musikerin und Klangkünstlerin. Ihre Arbeit ist inspiriert von fiktionalen Welten, von Poesie und Geologie. Ihre Klangarbeiten waren international zu hören, u. a. im Issue Project Room, Pioneer Works in New York, dem Museum of Modern Art in Medellín und dem Mies van der Rohe-Pavillon in Barcelona.

21.11. - 27.11.2020
Stefan Ivanov (Text)
Sebastian Kokus & Thomas Korf (Klang)

Am 21.11. sind Sebastian Kokus und Thomas Korf live zu Gast im ABYSSAL.

Stefan Ivanov (*1986, lebt in Sofia) ist Dichter, Dramatiker und Journalist. Er schreibt allein, zieht es aber vor, andere Künstler in seine Arbeit und Ideen einzubinden. Sein Bühnenwerk beschreibt er als Strukturen, die mit der Präsenz und Unmittelbarkeit des Publikums, der Dichter, Schauspieler, Künstler und Musiker gefüllt sind.
Sebastian Kokus und Thomas Korf (geb. 1982 leben und arbeiten in Hamburg) sind als Musiker unter Anderem 2/3 der Band LOVE-SONGS (Bureau B), die sich seit 2012 mit mehreren Veröffentlichungen im musikalischen Spannungsfeld von improvisatorischen Momentaufnahmen und festgelegten Rastern bewegen.


****
Dieses Programm von Mitko Mitkov wird unterstützt vom Hilfsfonds »Kunst kennt keinen Shudown«.

****
Mitko Mitkov (*1989, lebt in Hamburg), der den BAD BOY JESUS CITY SWIMMERS CLUB ins Leben gerufen hat, eignet sich in seiner künstlerischen Praxis unterschiedliche Rollen an - Hausmeisterservice, Herausgeber einer Zeitschrift, Kurator, Grafiker, Verleger und Vereinsgründer. Mit ihnen erforscht und beschreibt er zumeist kollaborativ fluide Räume des Sozialen. In ihnen gehen Realismus und Sehnsucht, Gesellschaftskritik und Alltag, Ernsthaftigkeit und Freude am Zusammenkommen Hand in Hand. 


20201121_abyssal_0012.jpg
20201128_abyssal_0436.jpg
20210109_abyssal_0828.jpg
20210116_abyssal_1230.jpg