Exhibition
PatternsOfLife04.jpg

Some Shapes of Things to Come

May 25 — July 28, 2018

A salient perception of the present is one defined by crisis. In the light of this, "Some Shapes of Things to Come" asks how we can design our specific environment, i.e. how we live, how we move around translocally, how we organise ourselves socially. Everyday contexts are addressed in terms of their complex entanglements, as well as harnessed as scope for the development of visions geared towards the surmounting of an implacable status quo seemingly devoid of alternatives.

This exhibition is underpinned by the thesis which holds that the view of a present defined by a string of ecological, economic, political and social crises is actually not exclusively based on fact. External threat scenarios and the dynamic of digitalisation and automation, which has seemingly become a law unto itself and from which the individual has long-since been excluded, have also been instrumentalized in order to coerce and consolidate a state of stagnation enshrining the preservation of Western privileges as the only legitimate aim. An awareness for the possibilities for designing the world and imagining a future we might work towards is in fact so delimited and supressed, to such an extent that it infiltrates our very sphere of everyday action and reception. Therefore “Some Shapes of Things to Come" doesn't pose questions from the generalised and generalising perspective of global, media or quantified prognoses. Instead, the artists participating in the exhibition share an interest in specifically designed, material and social environments that seminally define our living environment and our identity and in which distinct and symptomatic moments of the Western experience of the present take place. The concept of design is invoked because – in its intrinsic openness – it alludes to the fabricated nature of and, by inference, the viability of fabricating spaces, structures, information and social relations. The works and projects featured in the exhibition refer the developments in the fields of social and political organisation, digital technologies, global mobility and architecture to the practice of individuals and specific communities. They raise awareness of an endemic, multi-layered instrumentalization and functionalization, but at the same time, focus on the empowering potential of individual and private needs, such as living, travel, love, being appreciated and recognised, as well as self-realisation.

The Bibliothek für Gesellschaftsdesign's reading desks and a total of sixty books on the topic of the social responsibility of design, coupled with Fokus Grupa's four mobile living units called the "Existenzoptimum", define the infrastructural framework of the project. A number of video works by Alexa Karolinski and Ingo Niermann, Alex Martinis Roe, Julien Prévieux and Clara Winter with Miguel Ferráez have been integrated into the installation. The films form the starting point and background for workshops and discursive and performative formats, which will take place at the exhibition's opening on 26 May, as well as between 12 and 14 July, as an open-ended part of the "Track Academy" series.

Curated by Lisa Britzger




_DSC2302-B.jpg
_DSC2340-B.jpg
_DSC2261-B.jpg
_DSC2295-B.jpg
_DSC2346-B.jpg
_DSC2328-B.jpg
%20_DSC2229-B.jpg
_DSC2281-B.jpg
_DSC2359-B.jpg

Ausstellungen
PatternsOfLife04.jpg

Some Shapes of Things to Come
Eröffnung am 26. Mai, 17 Uhr

26. Mai — 29. Juli 2018


Vor dem Hintergrund einer durch Krisen definierten Wahrnehmung von Gegenwart fragt „Some Shapes of Things to Come“ nach Perspektiven, wie wir unsere konkrete Lebenswelt gestalten, wie wir wohnen, uns translokal bewegen, uns sozial organisieren. Alltägliche Kontexte werden auf ihre komplexen Verstrickungen hin adressiert, aber auch als Möglichkeitsraum erschlossen für Visionen zur Überwindung eines scheinbar alternativlosen Status quo.

Zugrunde gelegt wird die These, dass die Auffassung einer von ökologischen, wirtschaftlichen, politischen und sozialen Krisen determinierten Gegenwart nicht ausschließlich faktisch begründet ist. Externe Bedrohungsszenarien und eine dem Zugriff des Einzelnen längst entzogene Eigendynamik der Digitalisierung und Automatisierung werden zusätzlich instrumentalisiert um Stagnation in Form von Bestandssicherungen westlicher Privilegien als einzig legitimes Streben zu forcieren. Ein Bewusstsein für die Möglichkeiten, Welt zu gestalten und auf eine Zukunft hin zu imaginieren, wird so einschränkt und unterdrückt bis in den Bereich unserer alltäglichen Handlungs- und Rezeptionsweisen hinein. „Some Shapes of Things to Come“ stellt sich der Frage nach Zukunftsmodellen daher nicht aus der verallgemeinernden Perspektive globaler, medial vermittelter oder quantifizierter Prognosen. Vielmehr teilen die künstlerischen Positionen in der Ausstellung ein Interesse an den konkreten gestalteten, materiellen und sozialen Umgebungen, die unsere Lebenswelt und unsere Identität definieren und in denen sich spezifische und symptomatische Momente westlicher Gegenwartserfahrung ereignen. Der Begriff der Gestaltung wird aufgerufen, weil er in seiner Offenheit und Übertragbarkeit auf die Gemachtheit und im Rückschluss die Machbarkeit von Räumen, Strukturen, Informationen und sozialen Beziehungen verweist. Die Arbeiten und Projekte der Ausstellung beziehen Entwicklungen aus den Bereichen sozialer und politischer Organisation, digitaler Technologien, globaler Mobilität und Architektur auf die Praxis Einzelner und spezifischer Gemeinschaften. Sie sensibilisieren für die vielschichtige Instrumentalisierung und Funktionalisierung, aber auch für die ermächtigenden Potenziale individueller und privater Bedürfnisse wie Wohnen, Reisen, Liebe, Anerkennung und Selbstverwirklichung.

Den infrastrukturellen Rahmen des Projektes definieren die Bibliothek für Gesellschaftsdesign mit Lesetischen und 60 Publikationen zur gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung von Design sowie „Existenzoptimum“, vier mobile Wohneinheiten von Fokus Grupa. In die Installation integriert werden Videoarbeiten von Alexa Karolinski und Ingo Niermann, Alex Martinis Roe, Julien Prévieux und Clara Winter und Miguel Ferráez gezeigt. Die Arbeiten in der Ausstellung bilden Ausgangspunkt und Hintergrund für Workshops, diskursive und performative Formate, die als ergebnisoffener Teil im Rahmen der Reihe „Track Academy“ zur Eröffnung am 26. Mai und vom 12. – 14. Juli angeboten werden.

Kuratiert von Lisa Britzger