Exhibition
2015_AW_Gemeinschaft_Ohne_Eigenschaften_03_preview.jpeg

LISA BERGMANN, ALINA SCHMUCH, TITRE PROVISOIRE, ANNA WITT
Stockholm Syndrome

March 2 — May 13, 2018

Stockholm syndrome describes a psychological condition in which victims develop an emotional attachment to their captors as a survival strategy, allying themselves or even identifying with them and, through their own behaviour, actively exercising a stabilising influence on the victim-captor relationship. The group show “Stockholm Syndrome” applies this tipping point – typically from a critical attitude or distanced participation to one of affirmation – to the structural principles of post-Fordist societies. The constraints of wage labour are increasingly concealed in these societies by demands for self-starting, intrinsic motivation and self-realisation, effectively blurring the boundaries between a private sphere and work, collective and individual identity, emotions and labour economics. The exhibition focuses upon the rules governing the seductive and manipulative mechanisms operating here and how they inscribe themselves into our everyday life in forms of work, community and architecture.

The videos featured in the exhibition by Lisa Bergmann, Alina Schmuch, titre provisoire and Anna Witt all take as their starting point the inculcation of social roles at the point where the individual and the collective intersect. Furthermore, they examine the mechanisms of identification, attribution and suggestion in terms of their performative, spatial and social aspects. Which forms of seduction, which psychological processes and aspects of group dynamics and also which sorts of activation and participation are at the heart of a community that is in and of itself political? What are the aesthetic and social settings these forms use to permeate different areas of everyday life today?

Carlo Siegfried’s exhibition architecture conceives the exhibition space as a stage. Based on actual office fittings and furniture, it embraces the actions and movements of the visitors as part of a situation generated collectively and extending the scope of the films. The stage will be activated as a platform for workshops, talks and performances during two Saturday events in the Track Academy series.
_DSC1015.jpg
_DSC0946B%20copy.JPG
_DSC0976.jpg
_DSC0942B%20copy.JPG
_DSC0985.jpg
_DSC0991.jpg
_DSC0983.jpg
_DSC1000.jpg

Ausstellungen
2015_AW_Gemeinschaft_Ohne_Eigenschaften_03_preview.jpeg

LISA BERGMANN, ALINA SCHMUCH, TITRE PROVISOIRE, ANNA WITT
Stockholm Syndrome

1. März — 12. Mai 2018

Das Stockholm-Syndrom beschreibt ein psychologisches Phänomen, bei dem Opfer eine emotionale Bindung zu Tätern aufbauen, sich mit diesen identifizieren und sogar durch eigenes Handeln stabilisierend auf das Opfer-Täter-Verhältnis einwirken. Die Gruppenausstellung „Stockholm Syndrome“ überträgt dieses Kippmoment von Kritik oder distanzierter Teilhabe zu Affirmation auf die Strukturprinzipien postfordistischer Gesellschaften. Zwänge der Lohnarbeit werden dort zunehmend von Forderungen nach intrinsischer Motivation und Selbstverwirklichung verdeckt und so die Grenzen zwischen Privatheit und Arbeit, kollektiver und individueller Identität, Emotion und Arbeitsökonomie verwischt. Die Ausstellung widmet sich den Regeln von auf Verführung und Manipulation basierenden Mechanismen und wie diese sich in Formen von Arbeit, Gemeinschaft und Architektur in unseren Alltag einschreiben.

Die in der Ausstellung vertretenen Videoarbeiten von Lisa Bergmann, Alina Schmuch, titre provisoire und Anna Witt nehmen die Einübung gesellschaftlicher Rollen an der Schnittstelle von Individuum und Kollektiv zum Ausgangspunkt und befragen Mechanismen der Identifikation, Zuschreibung und Suggestion auf Aspekte des Performativen, Räumlichen und Sozialen. Welche Formen der Verführung, welche psychologischen und gruppendynamischen Prozesse, aber auch welche Arten der Aktivierung und Teilhabe stehen im Zentrum immer schon per se politischer Gemeinschaft? Mit welchen ästhetischen und sozialen Setzungen durchdringen sie die verschiedenen Bereiche unseres täglichen Lebens?

Die von Carlo Siegfried entwickelte Ausstellungsarchitektur begreift den Ausstellungsraum als Bühne. Angelehnt an aktuelle Büroraumarchitektur bindet sie die Handlungen und Bewegungen der Betrachter_innen als Teil einer kollektiv erzeugten, die Filmräume erweiternde Situation ein. An zwei Samstagsveranstaltungen der Reihe Track Academy wird die Bühne mit Workshops, Vorträgen und Performances aktiviert.

_DSC1015.jpg
_DSC0946B%20copy.JPG
_DSC0976.jpg
_DSC0942B%20copy.JPG
_DSC0985.jpg
_DSC0991.jpg
_DSC0983.jpg
_DSC1000.jpg