Exhibition
Screen%20Shot%202017-03-15%20at%2018.32.06.png

fiber and liquids

June 27 — October 30, 2017

Indubitably ideologically charged, the so-called "darknet" has become an ambivalent space of desire. It functions as a cipher for uncontrollable threats from an obscure digital realm on the dark side of global networks, yet at the same time it can be read as a digital subconscious filled with the real and imaginary flip-side of a purported culture of transparency. This invariable transpires in clear conceptual opposition to those transparent digital spaces that can be found using common search engines, unlike the content of the "darknet" with its apparently shady, criminal and politically subversive Internet. It echoes the symbolism of the Enlightenment era in which the topos of intellectual illumination is posited as an antithesis to the darkness of the primitive, uneducated, criminal, deviant or subconscious.

Such binary, quasi-Manichean, dichotomous language recalls the era of European Imperialism which filled up the blank areas on world maps with its own projections, the terrae incognitae that formed the "dark continents" based on a purely Eurocentric perspective. In addition, the motif of the subjective travel report on uncharted territory is equated with a movement towards psychological and civilizing origins, where violence and sexuality define a landscape that is both threatening and seductive. Even today, as global interconnectedness and transparency serve the utilisation of both material and human resources, dichotomies of this kind legitimize and obscure neo-colonial endeavours.

The digital exhibition fiber and liquids assembles numerous artistic positions that explore the complex relationship between marginalised spaces and strategic retreats, between global interconnectedness and its neo-colonial gaps, big data and informal knowledge systems, digital transactions and their local and physical contextualisation. Works by Graeme Arnfield, Laura Balboa, James Bridle, Louis Henderson, Till Krause, Tuomas A. Laitinen, Christian Sievers and Suzanne Treister deal on different levels with questions of visibility and invisibility of people and identities, processes and resources. They touch upon the issue of hidden relationships between digital and spiritual worlds, describe the topography of networks and the suppressed economic and historical foundation of Western information society.

Ausstellungen
Screen%20Shot%202017-03-15%20at%2018.32.06.png

fiber and liquids

27. Juni — 30. Oktober 2017

In seiner ideologischen Aufladung ist das sogenannte „Darknet“ zum ambivalenten Sehnsuchtsort geworden. Es funktioniert als Chiffre für unkontrollierbare Bedrohungen aus dem digitalen Raum auf der Schattenseite globaler Vernetzung und ist zugleich als digitales Unterbewusstsein lesbar, angefüllt mit der tatsächlichen oder imaginierten Kehrseite einer behaupteten Transparenzkultur. Dies geschieht stets in eindeutiger begrifflichen Abgrenzung „klarer“ digitaler Räume, die sich anders als die Inhalte des „Darknets“ über Suchmaschinen auffinden lassen, mit dem scheinbar düsteren Internet der Kriminalität oder des politischen Untergrunds. So klingen Bilder der Aufklärung an, in denen der Topos geistiger Erleuchtung der Dunkelheit des Primitiven, Ungebildeten, Kriminellen, Devianten oder Unbewussten gegenübersteht.

Dieser dichotome Sprechhabitus lässt das Zeitalter des europäischen Imperialismus anklingen, das die Terrae Incognitae, die weißen Flecken auf der Landkarte „schwarzer“ Kontinente, aus eurozentristischer Perspektive mit seinen Projektionen anfüllte. Zudem wurde das Motiv des subjektiven Reiseberichts in kartographisch unerschlossenes Gebiet mit Bewegungen zu zivilisatorischen und psychologischen Ursprüngen gleichgesetzt, in denen Gewalt und Sexualität gleichermaßen als Bedrohung und Versuchung die Landschaft definierten. Auch heute, da globale Vernetzung und Transparenz der Erfassung und Verwertung materieller und menschlicher Ressourcen dienen, legitimiert und verdeckt eine dichotome Sprache neo-koloniale Bestrebungen.

Die digitale Ausstellung fiber and liquids versammelt künstlerische Positionen, die das komplexe Verhältnis zwischen marginalisierten Räumen und strategischen Rückzugsorten, globaler Vernetzung und ihrer postkolonialen Auslassungen, Big Data und informellem Wissen, digitaler Transaktion und ihrer lokalen, physikalischen Verortung ausloten. Die Arbeiten von Graeme Arnfield, Laura Balboa, James Bridle, Louis Henderson, Till Krause, Tuomas A. Laitinen, Christian Sievers und Suzanne Treister setzen sich auf verschiedenen Ebenen mit Fragen der (Un-)Sichtbarkeit von Personen, Prozessen und Ressourcen auseinander. Sie thematisieren verborgene Zusammenhänge zwischen analogen, digitalen und spirituellen Welten, beschreiben die Topographie von Netzwerken und verdrängte ökonomische sowie historische Grundlagen der Informationsgesellschaften des Westens.