Exhibition
COPS_HP_Preview_fb.JPG

Corporation of people's situations – COPS

June 17 — July 23, 2017

How is it possible to do justice to the plethora of voices reflecting myriad different standpoints and opinions and yet share the same living space? How can divergence be organised without engendering exclusion and homogenisation? How do abstract concepts, such as global economy, property, ownership, international agreements, real estate speculation and privatisation influence the concrete scope for joint action and the realisation of visions for a future society? Using a language of form characterised by the provisional, functionality and future promise, the Corporation of people’s situations (COPS) has installed a spatial situation at the Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof comprising materials and elements taken from construction sites, as well as equipment and components from the world of sport and leisure activities. Scaffolding, sheets of foil, belts and mats are deployed and adapted for different use in gymnastic exercises, as meeting places and as infrastructure for an open archive. In the sense of a mobile, modular multipurpose toolbox, which can be shifted around and reconfigured into various different parkours, the installation becomes the framework and starting point for several COPS-initiated situations. In conjunction with invited artists and guests, COPS uses talks, workshops, screenings and physical exercises to provoke approaches to the question of communal engagement and to explore how contemporary global and local connections can be focused on thematically and experienced physically. Thus a "together(ness)" or collective is imagined, staged and, ultimately, performatively enacted on an aesthetic, theoretical and physical level.

Corporation of People's Situations has been working since 2015 in alternating interdisciplinary formations developing situations, performances and lectures on the thematic cluster of property, ownership, community and the scope for collective action. The conceiving of specific spatial situations, in which visitors become part of the experiment as co-producers and accomplices, invariably plays a decisive role. Participation is practiced on the understanding that it is an open offer, which codetermines its conditions and the decision-making processes of the group and which continues to develop as an ongoing 'work-in-progress' project. Various projects have already been realised, including invitations to Flutgraben e.V., Berlin (2016), Radio Archipel, Hamburg (2016), Stadtkuratorin Hamburg (curating public art of the city of Hamburg), Hamburg (2015), Motel Spatie, Arnhem, Netherlands (2015). 

Jennifer Bennett's conceptual practice resides in the fields of visual art, lecture, music and text with a main focus on balance, the correlation of art and life and problematizing the drawing of boundaries.

Alice Peragine focuses upon situations and actions in sites of transition, operating on the interface between performance, installation and intervention.

The community and urban researcher, designer and cultural sociologist, Lene Benz focuses on aspects of urban life, as well as forms of community and the world of work.

Balz Isler works as a performer, artist and thinker and uses multimedia forms, installations and performances in which he engages with today's clip and documentary culture.

Ida Roscher studied art and criminological social research. Starting from the dynamics of play, she searches for ways of translating social forms and norms.

Jo Zahn is an artist, filmmaker and organiser and focuses upon the social and economic reciprocal arrangements of public and medial space.

The artist, filmmaker and art educator, Katja Lell focuses upon the themes of movement, the interstitial, real time and digitality.

Carl Gerber works as a dramaturge (performance) and screenplay writer. 


Daniel Loick teaches political philosophy and the history of ideas, the philosophy of law and social philosophy, as well as ethics, in particular critical legal theory and the theory of the state in the context of politics and the form of life. 


Justin Francis Kennedy studied dance, choreography and ethnology and works as a dancer, artists and teacher.

Signe Koefoed's performance-related work deals with concepts of reality and perception, social structures and behaviour as well as different forms of its representation.

Christin Zarzinsky works as a freelance performance artist, dancer, yoga instructor and trainer.

Choreographie und Widerstand (Choreography and Resistance) is a loose, international group of activists, artists, dancers and choreographers from Berlin.

The dancer and choreographer, Josephine Findeisen explores the production of insight and memory in her work.

Via installations often activated through performance, the artist Sonja Hornung focuses upon the relationship between market-based reality and the ideal of a world without borders.

The platform Archipel engages with communicative and integrative production, self-organisation and questions of space, developing potential for a broad network of civil and non-institutional partners.

GARDEN is an initiative for sustainable food culture and collective social practice.

Patricia Carolin Mai is a dancer and choreographer who examines what happens when the body is exposed to extreme situations. As an educator, she leads workshops in contact improvisation.

Track Academy
Track_4: Corporate Subjects & Track_5: Decoded Situations – Media Translations
 There will be two events in the series Track Academy to be held on Saturday, July 1 2017 as well as Saturday, 16 September to accompany the exhibition on the topics of property, the body and the law, comprising performances, discussion and cinematic contributions. The series Track Academy is supported by Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung. 

The program of Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof is supported by Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg, Behörde für Kultur und Medien.


7P2A0158.JPG
7P2A0165.JPG
7P2A0128.JPG
7P2A0113.JPG
Bildschirmfoto%202017-07-05%20um%2011.19.39.png
7P2A0088.JPG
7P2A0080.JPG
P1060382.JPG
DSC_4506.JPG
7P2A0077.JPG
7P2A0074.JPG
P1060220.JPG
7P2A0120.JPG
7P2A0148.JPG
7P2A0076.JPG
P1060205.JPG

Ausstellungen
COPS_HP_Preview_fb.JPG

Corporation of people's situations – COPS

17. Juni — 23. Juli 2017

Wie ist es möglich, vielen Stimmen gerecht zu werden, die unterschiedliche Positionen vertreten und doch einen Lebensraum teilen? Wie kann das Divergente organisiert werden, ohne zu homogenisieren und auszuschließen? Wie beeinflussen abstrakte Konzepte wie Global Economy, Eigentum, Staatszugehörigkeit, internationale Abkommen, Immobilienspekulation und Privatisierung die konkreten Möglichkeitsräume für gemeinschaftliche Handlungen und die Verwirklichung von gesellschaftlichen Zukunftsvisionen? Mit einer von Funktionalität, Provisorium und Zukunftsversprechen geprägten Formensprache schaffen Corporation of people’s situations (COPS) im Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof eine Raumsituation aus Materialien und Elementen, die auf Baustellen zum Einsatz kommen, sowie Geräten und Komponenten aus Sport und Freizeit. Baugerüste, Folien, Gurte und Matten werden verwendet und zweckentfremdet für Turnübungen, als Versammlungsorte und Infrastruktur für ein offenes Archiv. Im Sinne einer modularen Toolbox, die sich nach Bedarf verschieben, ausklappen und zu verschiedenen Parkouren arrangieren lässt, wird die Installation Rahmen und Ausgangspunkt für zahlreiche von COPS initiierte Situationen. Gemeinsam mit eingeladenen Künstler_innen und Gästen provozieren COPS mit Vorträgen, Workshops, Screenings und Körperübungen den Umgang mit der Frage des Gemeinsamen und erproben, wie aktuelle globale und lokale Zusammenhänge thematisiert und sinnlich erfahren werden können. Auf ästhetischer, theoretischer und körperlicher Ebene wird ein Zusammen oder ein Kollektiv imaginiert, inszeniert und letztlich performativ realisiert.

Corporation of people's situations arbeiten seit 2015 in wechselnden, interdisziplinären Formationen und entwickeln Situationen, Performances und Lectures zum thematischen Cluster Besitz, Eigentum, Gemeinschaft und kollektivem Handlungsraum. Eine entscheidende Rolle spielt dabei immer auch die Konzeption bestimmter räumlicher Situationen, in denen Besucher_innen als Produzent_innen und Kompliz_innen Teil der Versuchsanordnung werden. Partizipation wird als offenes Angebot praktiziert, das seine Bedingungen und die Entscheidungsprozesse der Gruppe mit thematisiert und als work in progress stetig weiterentwickelt. Projekte wurden bereits realsiert u.a. auf Einladung von Flutgraben e.V., Berlin (2016), Radio Archipel, Hamburg (2016), Stadtkuratorin Hamburg, Hamburg (2015), Motel Spatie, Arnheim, Niederlande (2015). 

Jennifer Bennett verfolgt eine konzeptuelle Praxis in den Feldern bildende Kunst, Lecture, Musik und Text mit einem Fokus auf Balance, die Verbindung von Kunst und Leben und die Problematisierung von Grenzziehungen.

Alice Peragine operiert mit Situationen und Handlungen an Orten des Übergangs und bewegt sich an Schnittstellen zwischen Performance, Installation und Intervention.

Die Stadtforscherin, Designerin und Kultursoziologin Lene Benz befasst sich mit Themen des Städtischen sowie Formen von Gemeinschaften und Arbeitswelten.

Balz Isler arbeitet als Performer, Künstler und Denker mit multimedialen Formen, Installationen und Performances, in denen er sich mit der heutigen Clip-, und Dokumentarkultur beschäftigt. 

Ida Roscher hat Kunst und kriminologische Sozialforschung studiert. Ausgehend von der Dynamik des Spiels sucht sie Übersetzungsmöglichkeiten sozialer Formen und Normen.

Jo Zahn beschäftigt sich als Künstler, Filmemacher und Organisator mit den sozialen und ökonomischen Wechselbeziehungen medialer und öffentlicher Räume.

Die Künstlerin, Filmemacherin und Kunstvermittlerin Katja Lell arbeitet zu den Themen Bewegung, Dazwischen, Echtzeit und Digitalität.

Carl Gerber ist als Performance-Dramaturg und Drehbuchautor tätig. 

Daniel Loick lehrt politische Philosophie und Ideengeschichte, Rechts- und Sozialphilosophie und Ethik, insbesondere kritische Rechts- und Staatstheorien sowie Theorien zum Zusammenhang von Politik und Lebensform. 

Justin Francis Kennedy hat Tanz, Choreographie und Ethnologie studiert und arbeitet als Tänzer, Künstler und Lehrer. 

Signe Koefoed beschäftigt sich in ihrer performativen Arbeit mit Realitäts- und Wahrnehmungskonzepten, sozialen Strukturen und Verhaltensweisen sowie verschiedenen Formen ihrer Repräsentation.

Christin Zarzinsky arbeitet als freie Performancekünstlerin, Tänzerin, Yogalehrerin und Trainerin.

Choreographie und Widerstand ist eine lose, international tätige Gruppe von Aktivist_innen, Künstler_innen, Tänzer_innen und Choreograf_innen aus Berlin. Die Tänzerin und Choreografin Josephine Findeisen untersucht in ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit die Produktion von Erkenntnis und Erinnerung. Die Künstlerin Sonja Hornung thematisiert mit Installationen, die oft durch Performances aktiviert werden, die Beziehung zwischen marktbasierter Realität und dem Ideal einer Welt ohne Grenzen. 

Die Plattform Archipel setzt sich mit vermittelnder und integrativer Arbeit, mit Selbstorganisation und Raumfragen auseinander und erarbeitet Potential für eine breite Vernetzung ziviler und nicht-institutioneller Partner_innen.

GARDEN ist eine Initiative für nachhaltige Esskultur und kollektive soziale Praxis.

Patricia Carolin Mai ist Tänzerin und Choreographin und beschäftigt sich mit Körpern in Extremzuständen. Als Vermittlerin gibt sie Workshops in Contact Improvisation.


Corporation of people's situations ist vom 17. Juni bis 23. Juli von Donnerstag bis Sonntag,14 bis 18 Uhr geöffnet sowie zu zahlreichen Veranstaltungsterminen.

Am Samstag, 1. Juli 2017 sowie am Samstag, 16. September 2017 finden begleitend zur Ausstellung zwei Tracks der Reihe Track Academy statt zu den Themen Eigentum und Gemeinschaft mit performativen, diskursiven und filmischen Beiträgen. Die Reihe Track Academy wird gefördert von der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung. 


Das Programm des Kunstvereins Harburger Bahnhof wird gefördert durch die Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg, Behörde für Kultur und Medien.


7P2A0158.JPG
7P2A0165.JPG
7P2A0128.JPG
7P2A0113.JPG
Bildschirmfoto%202017-07-05%20um%2011.19.39.png
7P2A0088.JPG
7P2A0080.JPG
P1060382.JPG
DSC_4506.JPG
7P2A0077.JPG
7P2A0074.JPG
P1060220.JPG
7P2A0120.JPG
7P2A0148.JPG
7P2A0076.JPG
P1060205.JPG