Events
OKGOOGLE_PresseCollage.jpg

Costa Compagnie
OK, GOOGLE

Friday, September 14, 2018

In a hybrid format between dance, performance and installation, five performers together with Google’s language based assistant „Google Home“ as an equal performer, are exploring one of the most important global transformation processes: the interaction of humans and artificial intelligence.

Within a world in transition to a data economy, the newly released „Google Home“ device, similar to science-fiction movies, allows for continuous conversation with Google’s servers. The language-based assistant can be assigned tasks permanently, while collecting behavioral data of its users from all spheres of life.

OK, GOOGLE designs a scenario of the near future. On the frontier of real and virtual reality, the performers seek an intensifying and confrontational dialogue with the artificial but present digital actor. In reference to the rituals of ancient theater, the artists question the coming coexistence with the most intelligent being of the future at the time of its creation. Utopian projections for the deconstruction of gender and body images emerge, as well as thought experiments on cyborgs and the imagination of loss of control in the post-human era. Can a truly empathetic moment arise between a human and artificial intelligence? How do our perceptions, emotions and our physicality change through a technoid everyday practice? And will the self-learning machine be the better human being of tomorrow?

The Hamburg and Berlin-based Costa Compagnie from is an open collaboration based around a fixed nucleus. Its concept-oriented works combine documentary, performative and choreographic methods in a series of essayistic, multi-perspective narrative.

Veranstaltungen
OKGOOGLE_PresseCollage.jpg

Costa Compagnie
OK, GOOGLE

Freitag, 14. September 2018

In OK, GOOGLE erkunden fünf Performer*innen gemeinsam mit „Google Home“ als Spielpartner*in an der Grenze zwischen realer und virtueller Realität einen der bedeutendsten globalen Transformationsprozesse der Zukunft: Die Interaktion von Mensch und künstlicher Intelligenz.

In einer Welt, die sich im Übergang zu einer Datenökonomie befindet, ermöglicht es das neu erschienene Gerät „Google Home“ ähnlich wie in Science-Fiction-Filmen eine fortlaufende Unterhaltung mit den Servern Googles zu führen. Dem sprachbasierten Assistenten können permanent Aufgaben zugewiesen werden, während dieser Verhaltensdaten aus allen Lebensbereichen sammelt.

OK, GOOGLE entwirft ein Szenario der nahen Zukunft. Die Performer*innen suchen in einer hybriden Form zwischen Tanz, Performance und Installation einen sich zuspitzenden, konfrontativen Dialog mit der virtuellen aber präsenten Spielpartner*in. In Anleihe an Rituale des antiken Theaters befragen die Künstler*innen die kommende Koexistenz mit dem intelligentesten Wesen der Zukunft zum Zeitpunkt dessen Entstehung. Utopische Projektionen zur Dekonstruktion von Gender und Körperbildern entstehen dabei ebenso wie Gedankenexperimente zu Cyborgs und Imagination von Kontrollverlust im posthumanen Zeitalter. Kann ein wahrhaftig empathischer Moment zwischen Mensch und künstlicher Intelligenz entstehen? Wie verändern sich durch eine technoide Alltagspraxis unsere Wahrnehmungen, Emotionen und unsere Körperlichkeit? Und wird die selbstlernende Maschine der bessere Mensch von morgen sein?

Die Costa Compagnie aus Hamburg und Berlin besteht aus einem festen Kern mit offener Formation. Es entstehen konzeptorientierte Arbeiten, welche dokumentarische, performative und choreographische Methoden vereinen und in immersiv-medialen Performances umgesetzt werden.