Events

TRACK_2
Shared perspectives, entangled histories and relativizations of the west

April 1 at 1:00 PM — April 1, 2017 at 7:00 PM

"Track Academy" is a series of discursive programs combining scientific, artistic and educational formats. It creates communicative situations through the temporal and spatial condensation of the different activities, allowing for broader scopes of interaction and activation of specific knowledge. The themes "Track Academy" tackles derive from the exhibition program of the Kunstverein in 2017. They address contemporary challenges such as digitalization and networking, urbanity and urban development as well as migration and diversity.


Track_2 Shared perspectives, entangled histories and relativizations of the west

Plural and multiperspective views and expectations towards a life in Europe are replacing the idea of a historically and culturally justified self-understanding of western majority societies. Track_2 focuses on the exchange, transfer and translation of singular (hi)stories and biographies through media. What are the risks, challenges and chances articulated within alternative and resistant perspectives on Europe? Via which media, spaces and formats do they become public? And what are the concepts of the public and of a cultural norm at stake?


1 pm
Concerning Violence
Screening of Göran Olsson’s documentary (2014) based on a text by Frantz Fanon, commented on by Tania Mancheno (political scientist, Hamburg)

Swedish director Göran Olsson’s documentary "Concerning Violence" (2014) is the first cinematic adaptation of the controversial book "The Wretched of the Earth" by Frantz Fanon (published originally in 1961).
Before and after the screening political scientist Tania Mancheno will intervene to discuss the translation of Fanon’s text into a contemporary film. She will focus on the contextualization of both artistic forms – text and film – and the changes the written language undergoes in the film.

Tania Mancheno has been engaged with Fanon's thinking since 2010. She regularly holds seminars and workshops on Fanon for Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung. Currently she writes her Phd on the forgotten history of multiculturalism at University in Hamburg wherein Fanon’s thinking functions as methodological approach for a decolonial reading of multiculturalism.



In German 


3 – 6 pm
Words become Actions
Presentations and actions with Salah Zater (journalist and activist, Hamburg) and workshop participants

In March the workshop "Speak Loud" with Salah Zater took place at Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof. It addressed people that recently moved to Hamburg to find words and ways to communicate diverse perspectives in the community, society and politics. Departing from stories and experiences, observations and topics alongside the concomitant questions and propositions were given a voice. In fusing activism, writing and public action the workshop aimed at creating spaces in which publicity is possible and alternative knowledge can be heard.

Salah Zater is a TV-journalist from Libya who lives in Hamburg since 2015 and engages in refugee issues, against racism, islamophobia and for freedom of speech and expression.

In English


4 pm
Exercises On Decolonial Archives; Forming Collective Memories
Squat Monument (Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro and Anaïs Héraud-Louisadat) with Suza Husse (District, Berlin) in conversation about the project "Trümmerberg Kilimanjaro. Artistic Reconsiderations on Decolonizing Archives" in Tempelhof-Schöneberg, Berlin.

Squat Monument is an artistic research project by Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro and Anaïs Héraud-Louisadat. Since 2015 it has been activating (hi)stories through alternative perspectives and untold narratives. With poetic gestures the project "squats monuments" and claims space for new forms of collective memory cultures. "Trümmerberg Kilimanjaro" is a performative archive gathering urban traces of German colonialism with its cultural and economic forms of expression as well as of migrational contexts in Tempelhof-Schönerberg, Berlin.

In conversation with Suza Husse, artistic director of District Berlin, an interdisciplinary think and work space for the collaborative intersection of art and other fields of knowledge, Squat Monument will speak about the reappropriation of knowledge but also about fields of action that can be taken mutually whilst collaborating.

In English 


5.30 pm
Denken was Tomorrow
Lecture-Performance by Dan Thy Nguyen (artist, director and performer, Hamburg)

At the end of the 1970s the first refugees from Vietnam came to Germany. As Boat People they had been floating on the sea, hoping to be saved. The family of Dan Thy Nguyen was part of them. 35 years later refugees are floating on the Mediterranean and society seems to be helpless in facing the situation. 

In the spoken performance "Denken was Tomorrow" Dan Thy Nguyen deals with the personal stories of his parents, their war experiences and their flight but also the first years in Germany, the building of a life and the racism experienced.

In his productions and performances Dan Thy Nguyen deals with memory, personal stories and related questions of publicity. Which potential for the present and the future, which knowledge do they bear?

In German


6 pm
Archives, memories and blind spots
Media and formats of presentation and mediation of alternative (hi)stories and perspectives
Talk with Tania Mancheno, Dan Thy Nguyen and Salah Zater

What is the intended and unintended impact of different media and communication formats? Which alternative (hi)stories are being established as representation and which perspectives remain unheard and invisible? In their conversation Tania Mancheno, Dan Thy Nguyen and Salah Zater, who are active as activists and mediators in arts and theory, reflect on the blind spots of a multi-perspective public.

In English

Veranstaltungen
IMG_20170401_183835.jpg

Track_2
Geteilte Perspektiven, 
entangled histories und Relativierungen des Westens

1. April, 13:00 Uhr — 1. April 2017, 19:00 Uhr

Die Reihe „Track Academy“ umfasst ein diskursives Programm mit Formaten aus Wissenschaft, Kunst und Vermittlung. Durch eine zeitliche und räumliche Verdichtung von Veranstaltungen werden kommunikative Situationen angeboten, die Aneignungen von Handlungsräumen sowie die Aktivierung von spezifischem Wissen ermöglichen. Die Themen der „Track Academy“ leiten sich aus den Ausstellungsprojekten des Kunstvereins und adressieren Herausforderungen unserer Gegenwart von Digitalisierung und Vernetzung über Urbanität und Stadtentwicklung bis zu Migration und Diversität.

Track_2 Geteilte Perspektiven, 
entangled histories und Relativierungen des Westens

Die Idee eines historisch und kulturell begründeten Selbstverständnisses westlicher Mehrheitsgesellschaften wird abgelöst von pluralen, multiperspektivischen Auffassungen und Erwartungen an ein Leben in Europa. Track_2 richtet den Blick auf Formen von Austausch, Transfer und medialen Übersetzungen von singulären Geschichten und Biografien. Welche Gefahren, Herausforderungen und Chancen artikulieren sich in alternativen und widerständigen Perspektiven auf Europa und in welchen Medien, Räumen und Formaten können sie öffentlich werden? Welche Konzepte von Öffentlichkeit und kultureller Norm stehen zur Diskussion?


13 Uhr  
Concerning Violence
Screening von Göran Olssons Dokumentarfilm (2014) nach einer Textvorlage von Frantz Fanon, kommentiert von Tania Mancheno (Politikwissenschaftlerin, Hamburg)

Der Film „Concerning Violence“ (2014) des schwedischen Regisseurs Göran Olsson ist die erste Verfilmung von Frantz Fanons kontroversem Buch „Die Verdammten dieser Erde“ (im Original erschienen 1961).
In diesem kommentierten Screening wird die Politikwissenschaftlerin Tania Mancheno vor und nach dem Film intervenieren, um über die Übersetzung von Fanons Text in den zeitgenössischen Film von Olsson zu diskutieren. Im Fokus stehen dabei die Kontextualisierung der beiden künstlerischen Formen – Text und Film - und die unausweichliche Wandlung, welche die geschriebene Sprache im Film erfährt.

Tania Mancheno beschäftigt sich seit 2010 mit Fanons Denken. Als Referentin für die Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung gibt sie regelmäßig Workshops und Seminare über Fanon. In ihrer Promotion über die vergessene Geschichte des Multikulturalismus, die Mancheno bei Prof. Dr. Zimmerer an der Universität Hamburg schreibt, bildet Fanons Denken den methodologischen Zugang für eine dekoloniale Lektüre des Multikulturalismus.


15 – 18 Uhr
Words become Actions
Präsentationen und Aktionen im Kunstverein und im öffentlichen Raum mit Salah Zater (Journalist und Aktivist, Hamburg) und Workshopteilnehmer_innen

Im März fand im Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof der Workshop "Speak Loud" mit Salah Zater statt, der sich an Menschen wandte, die erst seit kurzem in Hamburg leben, um gemeinsam Worte und Wege zu finden, vielfältige Perspektiven in der Gemeinschaft, der Gesellschaft und der Politik zu kommunizieren.
Ausgehend von Geschichten und Erfahrungen wurden im Workshop Beobachtungen und Themen formuliert sowie den sich daraus ergebenden Fragen und Vorschlägen eine Stimme verliehen. In enger Verschränkung von Aktivismus, Schreibpraktiken und öffentlichen Handlungen zielte der Workshop darauf, Räume zu ermöglichen, in denen Öffentlichkeit beansprucht und alternatives Wissen hörbar wird.

Salah Zater ist ein TV-Journalist aus Libyen, der seit 2015 in Hamburg lebt und sich für Flüchtlingsthemen, gegen Rassismus und Islamophobie und für Rede-, bzw. Ausdrucksfreiheit engagiert.


16 Uhr
Exercises On Decolonial Archives; Forming Collective Memories
Squat Monument (Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro und Anaïs Héraud-Louisadat) mit Suza Husse (District, Berlin) im Gespräch über das Projekt „Trümmerberg Kilimanjaro. Artistic Reconsiderations on Decolonizing Archives“ in Tempelhof-Schöneberg, Berlin.*

Squat Monument ist ein künstlerisches Forschungsprojekt von Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro und Anaïs Héraud-Louisadat, das seit 2015 Geschichte(n) durch alternative Perspektiven und unerzählte Narrative aktiviert. Mit poetischen Gesten „besetzt es Denkmäler“ und fordert Raum ein für neue Formen kollektiver Erinnerungskulturen. Das Projekt „Trümmerberg Kilimanjaro“ versammelte urbane Spuren des deutschen Kolonialismus und seiner kulturellen und ökonomischen Ausdrucksformen sowie Migrationszusammenhänge im Berliner Bezirk Tempelhof-Schöneberg zu einem performativen Archiv.
Im Gespräch mit Suza Husse, der künstlerischen Leiterin von District Berlin, einem interdisziplinären Denk- und Arbeitsraum im Schnittfeld von bildender Kunst und anderen Arten der Wissensproduktion, geht es um Rückaneignungen von Wissen, aber auch um die Handlungsräume, die in der Zusammenarbeit beiderseits eingenommen werden können.


17:30 Uhr
Denken was Tomorrow
Lecture-Performance von Dan Thy Nguyen (Künstler, Regisseur und Performer, Hamburg)

Ende der 1970erJahre kommen die ersten Geflüchteten aus Vietnam in die Bundesrepublik. In der Hoffnung gerettet zu werden, trieben sie als Boat People auf dem Meer. Die Familie von Dan Thy Nguyen gehört ebenfalls zu diesen Menschen. 35 Jahre später treiben Geflüchtete auf Booten im Mittelmeer und eine ganze Gesellschaft scheint in dieser Situation hilflos zu sein.
In der Sprechperformance „Denken was Tomorrow“ setzt sich Dan Thy Nguyen mit der persönlichen Geschichte seiner Eltern, ihren Kriegserfahrungen und ihrer Flucht, aber auch mit der ersten Zeit und dem Aufbau eines Lebens in Deutschland sowie erlebtem Rassismus auseinander.

Dan Thy Nguyen, der bewusst im freien Theaterbetrieb arbeitet, beschäftigt sich in seinen Produktionen und Performances mit Erinnerung, persönlichen Geschichten und ihrem öffentlich Werden. Welches Potential für Gegenwart und Zukunft, welches Wissen bergen sie?


18 Uhr

Archives, memories and blind spots
Medien und Formate der Präsentation und Vermittlung alternativer Geschichte(n) und Perspektiven,
Gespräch mit Tania Mancheno, Dan Thy Nguyen und Salah Zater *

Welche beabsichtigten, aber auch welche unbeabsichtigten Wirkungen bringen verschiedene mediale und vermittelnde Formate mit sich? Welche Festschreibungen alternativer Geschichte(n) entstehen und welche Perspektiven verbleiben in den Übersetzungen und Übertragungen unsichtbar und unhörbar? Tania Mancheno, Dan Thy Nguyen und Salah Zater sind sowohl aktivistisch als auch künstlerisch oder theoretisch vermittelnd tätig und reflektieren im Gespräch die blinden Flecken von multiperspektivischer Öffentlichkeit.


* in englischer Sprache