Exhibition
FIGHT%20slap.jpg

Dara Friedman: Temple Door

November 23, 2019 — February 9, 2020

Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof is excited to present its upcoming exhibition with Dara Friedman. It will be her first institutional solo exhibition in Germany.

In a time marked by conflicts, Dara Friedman's new video work "Temple Door" is dedicated to solving conflict. Guided by the credo that true victory is a victory over oneself, she examines the structures underlying confrontation, conflict, and negotiation.
The protagonists act out confrontational scenes, blaming each other, becoming physical, and desiring to be seen and perceived. They develop gestures and actions in which confusion, anger, and frustration turn progressively into joy, with subject and body finding a new balance.

"Temple Door" was filmed during a 7-day Artissima Experimental Academy workshop in May of 2019, together with the artist and biologist Daniela Marcozzi and the Aikido master Massimiliano Furlanetto. Artists and art students from Hamburg, Bremen, London, Frankfurt, Milan, and Los Angeles travelled to Venice and were key to the workshop. Participants themselves decided which conflict solutions would be developed and practiced, thus creating a psychodramatic setting in which personal conflicts were acted out – and ultimately allowing the participants to learn how the intensely personal is also supra-individual.

INVITATION TO AN ENCOUNTER
A meeting of two: eye to eye, face to face.
And when you are near,
I will tear your eyes out
and place them instead of mine,
and you will tear my eyes out
and will place them instead of yours,
then I will look at you with your eyes
And you will look at me with mine.
(J.L. Moreno, 1914)


Friedman who was born in Germany and studied in Frankfurt at first, lives in the US where the internationally renowned artist had solo exhibitions among others at Museum of Modern Art, New York (2009), Contemporary Art Museum, Raleigh (2012), Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit (2014), Aspen Art Museum and Perez Art Museum Miami (2017). In 2017 her catalogue raisonné Dara Friedman: Perfect Stranger was published by Prestel Verlag. In 2019 she was awarded as Guggenheim Fellow.


KVHBF_2019_DaraFriedman_TempleDoor_web1.jpg
KVHBF_2019_DaraFriedman_TempleDoor_web2.jpg
KVHBF_2019_DaraFriedman_TempleDoor_web3.jpg

Ausstellungen
FIGHT%20slap.jpg

Dara Friedman: Temple Door

23. November 2019 — 9. Februar 2020

Der Kunstverein Harburger Bahnhof freut sich auf seine kommende Ausstellung mit Dara Friedman: Ihre erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in Deutschland!

Dara Friedmans neue Videoarbeit „Temple Door“ widmet sich in einer konfliktgeprägten Zeit dem Lösen von Konflikten. Sie untersucht die Strukturen, die Konfrontation, Streit- und Verhandlungssituationen zugrunde liegen – und geht dabei aus von dem Credo, dass der wahre Sieg ein Sieg über sich selbst ist.
Die Protagonist*innen agieren miteinander konfrontative Szenen aus, beschuldigen sich, werden tätlich, wollen gesehen und wahrgenommen werden. Dabei entwickeln sie Gesten und Aktionen, in denen sich Verwirrung, Wut und Frustration zunehmend in Freude wandeln, wo Subjekt und Körper eine neue Balance finden.

„Temple Door“ wurde gefilmt im Rahmen eines 7-tägigen Workshops der Artissima Experimental Academy im Mai 2019 (zusammen mit der Künstlerin / Biologin Daniela Marcozzi und dem Aikidomeister Massimiliano Furlanetto). Künstler*innen und Kunststudent*innen reisten aus Hamburg, Bremen, London, Frankfurt, Mailand und Los Angeles nach Venedig und prägten den Workshop entscheidend mit: Indem die Teilnehmer*innen selbst entschieden, welche Konfliktlösungen entwickelt und geübt werden sollten, entstand ein psychodramatisches Setting, in dem persönliche Konflikte ausagiert wurden – und nicht zuletzt gelernt wurde, dass das intensiv Persönliche überindividuell ist.

INVITATION TO AN ENCOUNTER
A meeting of two: eye to eye, face to face.
And when you are near,
I will tear your eyes out
and place them instead of mine,
and you will tear my eyes out
and will place them instead of yours,
then I will look at you with your eyes
And you will look at me with mine.
(J.L. Moreno, 1914)

Friedman, die in Deutschland geboren ist und zunächst in Frankfurt studierte, lebt inzwischen in den USA, wo der international bekannten Künstlerin Einzelausstellungen u.A. im Museum of Modern Art, New York (2009), Contemporary Art Museum, Raleigh (2012), Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit (2014), Aspen Art Museum und im Perez Art Museum Miami (2017) gewidmet wurden. 2017 erschien anlässlich der Ausstellung im PAMM im Prestel Verlag zu ihrem Werk (catalogue raisonné) Dara Friedman: Perfect Stranger. 2019 erhielt sie das Guggenheim Fellowship.

KVHBF_2019_DaraFriedman_TempleDoor_web1.jpg
KVHBF_2019_DaraFriedman_TempleDoor_web2.jpg
KVHBF_2019_DaraFriedman_TempleDoor_web3.jpg